Previous Results   
Are you interested in attending a course about promoting the Culture of Peace?

Native American Rights Fund
Staff and Members

John E. Echohawk
Executive Director

John Echohawk, a Pawnee, is the Executive Director of the Native American Rights Fund. He was the first graduate of the University of New Mexico''s special program to train Indian lawyers, and was a founding member of the American Indian Law Students Association while in law school. John has been with NARF since its inception, having served continuously as Executive Director since 1977.

He has been recognized as one of the 100 most influential lawyers in America by the National Law Journal since 1988 and has received numerous service awards and other recognition for his leadership in the Indian law field.

He serves on the Boards of the American Indian Resources Institute, the Association on American Indian Affairs, the National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy, Natural Resources Defense Council, and the National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development. B.A., University of New Mexico (1967); J.D., University of New Mexico (1970); Reginald Heber Smith Fellow (1970-72); Native American Rights Fund (August 1970 to present); admitted to practice law in Colorado.

During the formation of the Native American Rights Fund, a governing board was assembled composed of Indian leaders from across the country -- wise and distinguished people who were respected by Indians nationwide. Since inception, the NARF Board of Directors has continued to provide the organization their leadership, wisdom and vision.

Delia Carlyle, Chairman, Ak-Chin
Paul Ninham, Vice-Chairman, Wisconsin Oneida

Fred Cantu, Jr., Saginaw Chippewa
Elbridge Coochise, Hopi
David Cypress, Seminole Tribe of Florida
Billy Frank, Nisqually
James Roan Gray, Osage
Ron His Horse is Thunder, Standing Rock Sioux
Richard Luarkie, Pueblo of Laguna
Lydia Olympic, Igiugig Village
Kunani Nihipali, Native Hawaiian
Anthony Pico, Viejas Band of Kumeyaay Indians
Woody Widmark, Sitka Tribe

John E. Echohawk (Pawnee)
Executive Director/Attorney

Melody McCoy (Cherokee)
Litigation Management Committee Member/Attorney

Kim Gottschalk
Litigation Management Committee Member/Attorney

Natalie Landreth (Chickasaw)
Litigation Management Committee Member/Attorney

Don Ragona (Mattinecock/Oglala Lakota)
Director of Development

Ray Ramirez

Mike Kennedy
Chief Financial Officer/Comptroller

Private Forum
  Latest Topics  

No New Topics Available
  Top Events

No New Events Available
 Latest Opportunities

No New Opportunity Available