Previous Results   
Are you interested in attending a course about promoting the Culture of Peace?

Arab Planning Institute (API)
History and Background

Historical Overview
In 1966, the Government of Kuwait in cooperation with the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), established according to the five-year agreement signed between the two parties, the Kuwait Institute for Economic and Social Planning in the Middle East as an independent Kuwaiti Institute. In 1972, at the end of the five-year term, the Institute was converted into an independent Arab Institution called the Arab Planning Institute (API) - Kuwait. The five-year agreement signed between the member governments of the Institute and the UNDP limited the role of the UN to providing a number of international experts in addition to a number of fellowships. In 1980, the contribution of the UNDP ended, and the Arab member countries declared the API an independent, regional and non-profit Arab Institution . Currently, the Institute includes most of the Arab countries as members. Its membership, according to the API''s establishing agreements, is to remain open to other Arab countries wishing to become members. The API will, nonetheless, pursue its policy of rendering services to all Arab countries regardless of membership status.


API Members
1. Kingdom of Bahrain
2. Arab Republic of Egypt
3. The Republic of Iraq
4. The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
5. The State of Kuwait
6. The Republic of Lebanon
7. The Great People''s Socialist Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
8. Islamic Republic of Mauritania
9. The Sultanate of Oman
10. The State of Qatar
11. The Republic of Sudan
12. The Syrian Arab Republic
13. The Republic of Tunisia
14. The United Arab Emirates
15. The Republic of Yemen
16. Palestine.

Private Forum
  Latest Topics  

No New Topics Available
  Top Events

No New Events Available
 Latest Opportunities

No New Opportunity Available